LGMD “Spotlight Interview”

Name:  Karen  Age: 54 Yrs. old

Country: USA

LGMD Sub-Type:  LGMD 2I


At what age were you diagnosed?

I was diagnosed at the age of 33.

What were your first SYMPTOMS?

My first symptom was an overall weakness compared to other kids in gym class in grade school.  High School gym class was even worse.  I experienced tight hamstring and calf muscles.  My calves were large. Next was the noticeable change in my gait.

Do you have other family members who have LGMD?

No, I am the only family member diagnosed with LGMD.

What do you find to be the greatest challenges in living with LGMD:

The greatest challenges of living with LGMD are completing daily personal and household tasks, managing activity and rest, being prepared to access public spaces, and planning for future needs.

What is your greatest accomplishment:

With the love and support of my family and friends, I embrace and experience life in spite of ever changing limitations and obstacles.  That is my greatest accomplishment.

How has LGMD influenced you into becoming the person you are TODAY?

Living with LGMD has formed me into an accepting, determined, resourceful, humble, and grateful person. I learned to accept my diagnosis and realize that, as it progresses, it provides me with the opportunity to grow as a person.

What do you want the world to know about LGMD?

LGMD is a progressive disease.  It affects every thought that goes into every motion of every day.  Continued research and development for a cure, treatment, and assistive devices are essential.

If your LGMD could be “cured” tomorrow, what would be the first thing that you would want to do:

If I was cured tomorrow, I would Rollerblade!


* * * * * To read more “LGMD Spotlight Interviews” or to volunteer to be featured in an upcoming interview, please visit our website at: