LGMD “Spotlight interview”

 Name:  Nicole   Age:   24 yrs. old  

Country:  United States

LGMD Sub-Type:  LGMD 2A / Calpainopathy

At what age were you diagnosed:

I was diagnosed around 12 years old.

What were your first symptoms:

My very first symptoms were tippy toe walking.

Do you have other family members who have LGMD:

No one else in my family has LGMD.

What do you find to be the greatest challenges in living with LGMD:

As of lately, one of my biggest challenges is maintaining energy and stamina throughout the day. I have also been having difficulty dealing with the ever-changing symptoms and adjusting my life.

What is your greatest accomplishment:

My greatest accomplishment is having a full-time job and working 40 hours a week (even though it’s tiring!).

How has LGMD influenced you into becoming the person you are today:

LGMD has influenced me into becoming a more empathetic and understanding person. I do think I would not be who I am without LGMD and that makes me grateful!

What do you want the world to know about LGMD:

Although LGMD is a big part of my life, it’s not the only part. I am not ashamed of having a disability, but there is a lot more to me than that.

If your LGMD could be “cured” tomorrow, what would be the first thing that you would want to do:

I’m thinking I’d like to go for a run J

* * * To read more “LGMD Spotlight Interviews” or to volunteer to be featured in an upcoming interview, please visit our website at 

* * * Please LIKE, COMMENT and SHARE this post to help raise awareness of LGMD!