Name:  Melissa Age: 32 yrs. old

Country:  United States

LGMD Sub-Type:   LGMD2A (A form of Calpainopathy)

At what age were you diagnosed:

I was diagnosed at the age of 26.

What were your first symptoms:

When I was 5 years old I had trouble running, had an enlarged leg muscle, would trip often and also struggled to get up from the floor.

Do you have other family members who have LGMD:

No, I am the only person in my family with the diagnosis of LGMD2A

What do you find to be the greatest challenges in living with LGMD:

The greatest challenges for me include not being able to help others, losing my strength, not being able to reach things while in my wheelchair and having to rely on others for assistance.

What is your greatest accomplishment:

My greatest accomplishment is my ability to stay positive through the struggles and that I try to spread kindness any chance that I get.

How has LGMD influenced you into becoming the person you are today:

Living with LGMD has taught me how to be emotionally strong as my body gets physically weaker.

What do you want the world to know about LGMD:

I want people to know that MD is not the same thing as MS and that LGMD does not affect my brain.

If your LGMD could be “cured” tomorrow, what would be the first thing that you would want to do:

I would run to the nearest airport, fly to New York City to visit my brother and end the day relaxing in a hot tub.

To read more “LGMD Spotlight Interviews” or to volunteer to be featured in an upcoming interview, please visit our website at