Name:      Hasan          AGE:   34 years old

Country:  Pakistan

LGMD Sub-Type: Unknown

At what age were you diagnosed:

I was diagnosed at the age of 19 years old

What were your first symptoms:

Started feeling pain and cramps, wadding walk, spinal curvature ….

Do you have other family members who have LGMD:

Yes, two sisters and one brother having this condition too

What do you find to be the greatest challenges in living with LGMD:

Well, loosing independent life I think is the biggest challenges in my life. The main thing is that my country places are mostly not wheelchair friendly and people always think that I have polio. Still, I do think about old days when I used to do lots of things are now unable to do that really sucks to me.

People don’t understand your needs and requirements in my daily course of life. Therefore, we have to guide them.

What is your greatest accomplishment:

In my point of view, I got a dream job now which I want to do in my life and now I love my job so much. I have started symptoms almost near to the completion of my studies. So, I think this is one the accomplishment in my life.

How has LGMD influenced you into becoming the person you are today:

To be honestly speaking, it made me so much changed my entire life. I learnt a lot after diagnosis of this condition and have to accept it. One of the main elements in my life now is to have patient.

What do you want the world to know about LGMD:

Please try to understand our disease instead of judging us. Life is beautiful and we come once only. So, enjoy every day and don’t feel bad or down about you for what you’re.

Don’t hesitate to ask questions about us.

If your LGMD could be “cured” tomorrow, what would be the first thing that you would want to do:

I want to go and see my immediate family members to surprise them that I can start walking again.

To read more “LGMD Spotlight Interviews” or to volunteer to be featured in an upcoming interview, please visit our website at: