Name:       Buck

Age:           31 years old

Country:   Unites States of America

LGMD Sub-Type:  LGMD 2L / R12


At what age were you diagnosed?

I was diagnosed at the age of 28.

What were your first SYMPTOMS?

My initials symptoms included weakness and pain in my legs, difficulty climbing stairs and it was hard to stand up from the ground.

Do you have other family members who have LGMD?

I do not have any known relatives that have been diagnosed with LGMD.

What do you find to be the greatest challenges in living with LGMD?

Chronic pain is my greatest challenge with LGMD.

What is your greatest ACCOMPLISHMENT?

I am still working on my greatest accomplishment but for now I have three beautiful children that I am focusing on.

How has LGMD influenced you into becoming the person you are today?

I have always had a great work ethic, always able to accomplish what I put my mind to.  Because of my disability, things are hard to get done but I never give up.  I have been able to stay positive and encouraging to others.

What do you want the world to know about LGMD?

I want the world to know that this disease is life changing and it can be extremely hard at times.  Unfortunately, there isn’t a lot of support for LGMD.  Hopefully raising awareness can lead to better support for people living with this disease.

If your LGMD could be “cured” tomorrow, what would be the first thing that you would want to do?

If I could be cured tomorrow, I would go to a trampoline park with my kids!  It is the small things in life that I cherish now.